Gluten Free Pizza thanks to Gluten Free Girl and the Chef & Stone Hearth Pizza Co.

Are you used to having pizza night every week?  I am and when I needed to start eating gluten free, I went searching for pizza places that make gluten free pizza and for gluten free pizza dough recipes.  There were many disappointments and trials, but I finally found the perfect solution for me!  I use the gluten free pizza dough recipe from the Gluten Free Girl and the Chef and tweak it a little bit depending on the gf flours/starches that I have in the house.

If you don’t know this website, I suggest you check it out.  The recipes are simple, clearly written and made with ingredients that you can easily find at a large grocery store.

For the pizza dough recipe, here is the list of ingredients from the website with notes of my changes:

1 tablespoon ground flaxseed or ground chia seeds
500 grams whole-grain gluten-free flour mix*
1 1/2 teaspoons kosher salt
15 grams (4 teaspoons) active-dry yeast
50 grams (1/4 cup) extra-virgin olive oil**
85 to 190 grams (1/2 to 1 cup) warm water, about 110F***

*For the whole-grain gluten-free flour mix, I use 125 gr of buckwheat flour, 125 gr of brown rice flour, 50 gr of teff flour, 125 gr of sticky sweet rice flour, 75 gr of potato starch.  Personally, I really like the texture of buckwheat flour since it seems to be the closest to a whole wheat flour.  Brown rice and teff flours add a nice flavor and more iron.  I use less starches than the original recipe, but I am happy with the result:  a crisp crust with a doughy center.

**I use only 1/8 cup of extra-virgin olive oil.  Following the recipe, I have added the olive oil into the yeast mixture, but I noticed that the yeast did not rise as much as it usually does with just the warm water.  So, I will add the olive oil directly to the flour mixture and combine only the yeast and water.

***When I prepare the yeast mixture, I use 1/2 cup warm water.  Then, I add another 1/2 cup or more of warm water until I get the right consistency.  In the winter with dry air, I probably use a total of 1 1/4 cup of warm water between the yeast mixture and the water added at the end.

I follow the same steps in the online recipe for mixing the dough.

Buon Appetito!

If you have a craving for take-out pizza, I have only found one place so far that I really like and that has not made me sick from cross contamination.  Around the Boston area, the place to go is Stone Hearth Pizza Co.  I hope to find other places during my travels in the US and in Italy, but so far this is the one restaurant I would recommend.  Just keep in mind that Stone Hearth is not a dedicated gluten free facility and more details about their products can be found on their website.

Leave a Reply

