Vegan Gluten Free Gingerbread

vegan gluten free gingerbread men
vegan gluten free gingerbread men

The holidays are here and don’t you want the smell of gingerbread in your house?  I do and last week I went searching  for a gluten free (and vegan) gingerbread recipe for a friend and her daughter who cannot have gluten AND dairy.  So I started by looking at a traditional wheat-based gingerbread recipe to get an idea of the ratio between flour, sugar, spices and fat.  Then, I moved onto one of my favorite gluten free sites, Gluten Free Girl and the Chef, where I found a gluten free gingerbread recipe, but it had both eggs and butter.  To check out a vegan recipe, I turned to a new site for me, Oh She Glows, and the closest I could find was a recipe for molasses cookies.  This recipe used flax seed instead of egg and vegan butter instead of butter.

After this bit of research, I decided to follow more or less the Gluten Free Girl and the Chef recipe, but with flax seed and vegan butter.  Since I like to tweak recipes depending on what allergens I have to avoid and what ingredients I have, I am going to write this one out for you.  The result is a traditional tasting gingerbread cookie.  Buon Appetito!

Ingredients:

600 gr gf cookie flour mix which is 40% whole grain flours and 60% starches
I used 240 gr Bob’s brown rice flour and 360 gr Bob’s white rice flour.
2 tbsp flax seed + 6 tbsp hot water
1 tsp baking soda
3/4 tsp salt
1 1/4 tsp cinnamon
1 tbsp ginger
1/4 tsp cloves
1/2 tsp nutmeg
230 gr Earth Balance soy-free buttery spread (about half the tub), room temperature
1 cup dark brown sugar
2/3 cup blackstrap molasses
2 tsp vanilla
orange zest from 1 organic orange

Put flaxseed in measuring cup and add hot water. Whisk to combine and set aside to gel and cool.

Place dry ingredients: flours, baking soda, salt, spices, in bowl and whisk thoroughly.

Put sugar and butter in stand mixer and mix on low with paddle until combined. Add vanilla, orange zest, flax seed slurry and molasses. Mix on low until combined.

With mixer on low, add dry ingredients, in 1/4 batches, scraping down sides until flour has disappeared into dough. Dough will be sticky.

Divide dough into 4 pieces and place each piece in saran wrap and store disks in fridge for at least one hour and up to 3 days.

Roll out dough on parchment with brown rice flour until 1/4 inch thick. Cut with cookie cutters.

Bake at 350F on parchment lined cookie sheets for 15 min. or until center is firm to touch.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

